Canine Cookery – Healthy Cheese and Garlic Dog Cookies

This is my first attempt at making dog treats for The Lads.  I am no good at baking or cooking, but I thought I would give it a try!  The recipe is my own and is extremely basic so anyone could try it.

I read somewhere that bran was good at preventing any issues with the anal glands.  When I went to purchase it, there was a choice between oat and wheat bran.  I went for the oat bran as I know many dogs suffer from wheat allergies and intolerances.  Maltese Terriers are reknowned for suffering from intolerances and allergies and with Jimmy being half Maltese, I didn’t want to take any chances.

They don’t take long to make, maybe about 10 mins prep time and then 15 mins in the oven.  They will last a few days if stored in an airtight container.  The recipe makes around 12 cookies, but that would depend on the cookie cutter you use.

Verdict:  I shared one cookie between the three Lads.  Jimmy gobbled his up and was dying for more.  Casper was a little suspicious but soon realised it was tasty and was wagging happily.  Pogo turned up his nose at first and then tentatively nibbled at it!  I think he only ate it to stop the others getting extra.  Still two out of three isn’t bad!

Healthy Cheese and Garlic Dog Treats

Ingredients

150 grams of oat bran

125 grams grated cheese

1 clove garlic (crushed) OR 1/4 tsp garlic powder

100 grams margarine

Ingredients - cheese, oat bran and margarine

Method

1. Leave the cheese to stand until it reaches room temperature. Put the oat bran in a mixing bowl. Cut the margarine into the oat bran.

Cut the fat into the oat bran

2. Stir in the cheese and mix to form a doughy consistency. You may need to add a splash of milk to make the mixture sticky.

Stir in the cheese

3. Knead the dough and roll into a ball.

Knead dough and roll into a ball

4. Roll out dough on a floured surface till it is about 1cm thick. Cut shapes with cookie cutter until all the dough is used.

Cut out cookies and place on baking tray!

5. Bake in a preheated oven at 180 degrees Celcius for about 15 mins (or until the cookies are firm and slightly brown).

Bake until firm and slightly brown

15 responses to “Canine Cookery – Healthy Cheese and Garlic Dog Cookies

  1. Wow. I’m a keen foodie with a food blog, but I’ve never thought to try out this. Seeing as there are loads of dogs in my family, this is worth a try! Thanks for sharing x

  2. The recipe looks very easy, and my dog is a cheese freak, so I’m going to give it a go and make some when I get the oat bran. My dog Poppy has had a lot of trouble with a ruptured anal gland (3 times), so I’m always looking for ways of getting more fibre into her diet. She is a 12 year old Shih-Tzu.

    • I really hope these cookies can help Poppy’s problem. The poor sweetheart having ruptured anal glands. That must be so painful for her. Give her a gentle hug from me 🙂

      Our family dog is a 16 year old Shih Tzu, Munchy! I have a real soft spot for Shih Tzus 🙂

    • Thanks!
      I do find that I will do things I wouldn’t normally do for my dogs! Like agility training…you wouldn’t find me running around a field for hours on a Sunday if the dogs didn’t love it! 🙂

  3. Pingback: DIY Cheese and Garlic Dog Treat Recipe – Canine Cookery | Fluffy Tufts

We love hearing from you. Comments, feedback, ideas etc are all appreciated!

