St Patrick’s Day Festivities 2012 – Music and Marching!

I’m a bit behind on my blog posts, so only getting to the Paddy’s Day photos now. Still, better late than never!

We are lucky to live very close to the staging area for some of the acts taking part in the parade.  It was such a lovely morning here on the 17th, that I thought I would head down to watch the performers setting up.

I brought Pogo with me as he is very friendly and really loves meeting people.  He dressed up in an orange jumper and a green shamrock necklace.  I have heard that in some countries it is considered bad luck to wear orange on Paddy’s Day. Here in Ireland, it’s perfectly acceptable to wear orange as it is one of the colours of our country’s flag.

People have often asked me what Paddy’s Day is like in Ireland, and I guess the only thing I can think of to compare it to would be Mardi Gras.  There are such festivities all around the country and these last for two or three days.

The staging area near us took up three roads and that was only a small amount of the acts due to be performing in the parade.  Pogo made so many new friends and I was lucky to be able to get some really good photos.

Pogo going to the Parade

Getting ready for the parade

Pogo meeting the performers

Bandoleras

Last-minute Practice

5 responses to “St Patrick’s Day Festivities 2012 – Music and Marching!

We love hearing from you. Comments, feedback, ideas etc are all appreciated!

