Dead Fox

Fox (Photo by John Robinson)A crisp, bright winter morning,
I saw a fox

Sharp teeth glistening white
Glossy, soft auburn fur
Magnificent bushy tail

A second look…

Glassy eyes
Tongue blue and lolling
Deep angry slit across the belly
The hint of intestines
A brutal scene

I cried for her
I couldn’t look away

8 responses to “Dead Fox

  1. You can find the true kind people of this earth, when they can weep for a animal that isn’t theirs, that’s what I think anyways. I always get shivers when I see a animal dead like that, unfortunetly I can not put it into a eloquent poem like yours.

  2. Thanks for your recent thumbs up about my blog; much appreciated from someone who is new to this medium, so your support much appreciated.
    Greetings from a dank, and dark County Meath…
    Robert O’Byrne

  3. Oh, how sad! We hope she did not suffer a lot before dying. Some animals die in such horrible, painful ways. Makes us cry when we see them. Hugs

We love hearing from you. Comments, feedback, ideas etc are all appreciated!

